How to make homemade Greek yogurt

Making  Greek yogurt is cheaper than buying it, and easy to make.
This is how you do it!

1. I buy normal, low-fat or non-fat plain yogurt and use a cheesecloth over a strainer, which I place over a large pot.

2. I  scrape the yogurt every day or every other day with the spatula to a clean area on the cheesecloth to strain out the whey, otherwise the cheesecloth gets clogged.

Unwrap the cheesecloth and it shouldn't look so runny. (At least not at the top.)

But beneath that top layer, it will still be runny.

Scrap the yogurt with a spatula onto a clean piece of the cheese cloth.

Still runny. Notice there's not as much? That's because sometimes I can't wait and I eat it anyway.

Yeah, like today.

Or the day after that. It was still a little runny once I mixed it up, but I couldn't help myself.

3. I’ve heard it takes 12 hours but mine always takes 3 or 4 days. Then when I unwrap it, I have thick, creamy Greek yogurt, just like store-bought. The thicker you want it, the longer you leave it in. The whey will look like milky water at the bottom of the pot. I add it to soups as a source of extra protein, and freeze it until I need it. Nothing goes to “waste” in this house! (You can’t even taste the whey.)

SO thick, I can hold it in my hand! Ok. This one was a little too thick! Ha!

Next time I’ll show how to make yogurt from milk!

10 responses to “How to make homemade Greek yogurt

  1. While I’m not a fan of Greek yogurt, I love how you can make it at home as I know it’s much more expensive in the store! I actually have a question for you. I live in a suburban area, no real garden except for a few flowers (which are native wildflowers). I would love to cut down on food waste (vegetable, fruit, leftover type waste) and was thinking of an indoor/household composter but I literally have no idea what I would do with it?? The “garden” is owned by the HOA and is landscaped to their requirements. Any suggestions?

    • If it’s organic, you could probably sell it. It’s such the rage right now and so expensive to buy. We had to give ours away when we moved because we couldn’t take it with us, and buy bags of it when we got here. Just about anyone who gardens would LOVE to have it. I’ll bet you have a gardening club in your area, or somewhere close by. They’d be willing to come by and pick it up when it gets full, I’m sure. You could put up an ad on your facebook page asking if anyone in your area could use free compost, a flyer where you work, at any coffee or health food store. Just ask around. You can use it for those flowers too. They’ll take off and grow like crazy. Anyone who grows flowers.. a nursery would take it. Trust me, if you start asking around, people will be fighting for it. It’s organic and homegrown! That’s the best kind.I’d say ask around. Once you start talking, you’ll find someone who has a garden, or grows flowers, and they’ll be asking you!I’ll see what my husband’s take is when he wakes up. I can’t sleep and am up l-a-t-e!

      • That’s a really good point! I do have plenty of nurseries nearby, as well as a botanical garden. I would love to use a little bit for my flowers outside, but I know I would put out more dirt than I would know what to do with! Thanks for your suggestions and now I will read your husband’s comment! Thank you!

    • Aveena,
      If you go back to the compost post of 14May2011, Jenn posted a video of how to make a vermicompost bin (composting with worms). You can do this inside, but I would suggest a garage or back porch. I’ve never experimented with worms before so I’ve got no first hand experience.

      However, when I was stationed in Washington, DC, I used an old plastic trashcan for my compost. I cut out the bottom and drilled some holes up the side and it worked rather well. There was nothing unsightly about it and if you keep the ratio of green to brown about 1:1, it won’t smell. The neighbors never complained.

      Now that I’ve woken up enough and actually read your question 😛 I agree with Jenn, if you just ask around, someone is bound to jump on the opportunity to take your dirt. I know we’d take it! You can always use it to level out your yard or as an organic mulch around your flower beds and shrubs. You can also use it in potted plants, just make sure you add some topsoil to balance out the soil.

      I hope this helps, if not let us know. When we’re more awake and with it, we will be able to get you a better answer!!

      Jennifer’s husband

  2. We have a teeny tiny area out front so a small trash can would fit perfect there and would not bother anyone! I love that I could use it for my household plants, as I’ve got plenty of those! Perhaps I won’t have as much leftover dirt to give away as I thought! Thank you both for your responses! Let the researching ensue! I’ll also be checking out that composting post.

  3. Pingback: Your Questions About Yogurt Cheese | Living With Less Money

  4. Pingback: $5 for $10 Worth of Self-Serve Frozen Yogurt at Cherry Berry » Get your daily Groupon deals

  5. Pingback: Greek (Yogurt) Gods « Chas Looks Good

  6. Pingback: How to make your own pesto (Try #1) | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

