Home cooking– Spinach souffle

Cooking at home is as green as it gets. You don’t have to drive anywhere, you don’t have to take left-overs home in a styrofoam box, and it’s unprocessed. It’s a win-win.

Spinach souffle
I got this recipe off ifood.tv. I’ve tried it twice. Both times it was light and delicious!

Ingredients you’ll need:
2 cups firmly packed finely chopped spinach
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon crushed rosemary
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup milk
3 well beaten egg yolks
4 egg whites
2 teaspoons shredded Parmesan cheese

How to Make It:
Mix spinach, onion, salt, and rosemary together.
Heat olive oil in a saucepan; blend in flour.
Heat until bubbly.
Stir in milk and bring to a boil; cooking 1 minute, or until sauce thickens.
Remove from heat.
Mix seasoned spinach with sauce; stir in beaten egg yolks; cool.
Meanwhile, beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.
Fold small amount of spinach mixture into egg whites, then quickly fold egg whites into remaining spinach mixture.
Pour into an ungreased 2-quart casserole dish.
Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.
Bake at 350°F 40 minutes, or until souffle is lightly browned.
Happy Cooking!

19 responses to “Home cooking– Spinach souffle

  1. That looks delicious, I have some spinach handy; so will give it a try. I am not much into recipes, I just mix-in ingredients and let it go; but in this case, I will follow instructions.
    Thanks, Jennifer!

    • You’re a real cook, in other words. I’m a recipe follower! But once you do it a time or two, you won’t need that recipe anymore. It’s so simple and so good. Just be sure to serve it with a side. It’s so light and fluffy, you’ll need the side for a filling meal. Let me know how it turns out for you? :)Thanks Marcia!

  2. I make spinach souffle a lot–it’s like pizza–you can dump in what ever you have in the refrig and it all tastes good. I dump in cut up vegies, cottage cheese, odd pieces of hard cheese, whatever. This recipe looks great except that I’m gluten intolerant so I’d lose the wheat (don’t need it anyway if you squeeze the spinach and get rid of all the moisture.) Sorry, I’m one of those boomer scratch cooks that can never leave anything alone. I’m already thinking what I would do with that extra egg yolk. Why not just use three whole eggs?

    • Right? And I never follow a recipe exactly either. (But my problem is I have a hard time following directions and having people tell me what to do!) I think I did use all three the first time because I cracked the yolk. The second time I think I used it on my face! (Get it? Egg on my face?) No, I’m serious. Yolk masts clear up acne. It’s a proven fact. Proven by me! Yeah, leave out whatever you want. I do that all the time. Most of the time it works out just fine. (Most of the time! ha! ha!) My husband still eats it. He’s so great.

      • Anne, I meant yolk masks. Not masts. Don’t know how that would work. My husband was like, “You need to fix that. No one is going to know what a yolk mast is.” Ha!
        🙂

  3. The spinach souffle turned out beautiful….looked like something out of a magazine…..I think I’ll try it….thanks Jennifer

  4. Pingback: Homemade french bread with creamy spinach soup «

  5. Jennifer, thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such a sweet comment. You dish looks awesome. Since my soup was such a success I am more open to spinach dishes now – I think I’m gonna try to make yours 🙂
    Speaking about my camera:
    I have Nikon D5000 with 18-55mm and 35mm lens. I just got the 35mm lens and I LOVE IT! it’s the best thing that happened to me in a long time 🙂 I seriously recommend it.
    I think that Nikon D5000 and D90 would be a great choice for you! Let me know if you have more questions!

    • Thanks for the tip on the camera. It’s all so overwhelming, so I like to find out what other people are using when I see killer pictures. Like yours. I really liked your story on the about page. You have such an interesting life! It’s such a pleasure to meet you!And let me know if the souffle works out for you. It’s simple and easy and the spinach just kind of melts in there. It’s good. :)I’ll let you know when I make your soup!

  6. You know, I always say it’s not the camer it’s the photographer 😉 (but good camera surly helps.lol). Since I’ve got a few cameras in my life I can tell you that actually the difference is more in the lenses you use than in the camera (if you’re not a proffesional photographer)!
    If you get a good camera body, like D90 it will last you forever. The only thing you could upgrade after that are lenses.
    btw, I’ll let you know when I make your souffle 🙂
    Hugs,

  7. Looks delicious! Looking forward to trying this one soon. Thank you so very much for all your lovliness you grace us with. It is an honor and pleasure to share with you and we enjoy all the articles you bring forth. Take care.

    • You encourage me so much. I enjoy reading your articles as well. I read them out loud to my man, who replies, “We should try and make that.” 🙂
      You have upgraded our health this year by all your brilliant ideas and recipes. I’m so lucky to have found you!!

  8. Pingback: A lesson learned from my kitchen |

  9. Saw this link from MomPhotographer and thought I’d give it a try. It’s baking in the oven as we speak. I changed the herbs to parsley and nutmeg since I didn’t have any rosemary. I also made it an even 4 egg yolks to the 4 egg whites and tossed in some cheese into the souffle itself as well. I think it’s going to be tasty. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • Polish Mama on the Prairie!
      Your comment made me laugh. I do that with all my recipes. I swear, I don’t think I ever go by an exact recipe! Let me know how it turned out! The cheese IN the souffle sounds like a good idea! No one ever makes the recipes I put up, so I’m so flattered the two of you liked it.

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!