Homemade icebox porridge

Now that we’ve moved away from cereal due to the packaging, I am grasping at breakfast ideas. So, imagine my thrill at finding a traditional English porridge eaten cold. Mmm….

Inspired by SuburbHomestead’s BlogΒ post of Icebox Oatmeal, I tweaked it a bit so see his site for the original recipe. The man is a genius. He can create anything homemade.

The ingredients I used:

1/2 cup uncooked old-fashioned oats

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup non-fat Greek yogurt

1-1/2 teaspoons chia seeds

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon local honey

1/4 cup homemade apple sauce (feel free to use unsweetened out of the jar)

handful unsalted sunflower seeds

handful chipped walnuts

How to make it:
I mixed it together in a bowl and scooped it into 1/2 pint (8 oz.) mason jars. I made a few batches and froze them. The rest we’ll be enjoying for breakfast. Word has it a few spoonfuls will keep you full until noon!

11 responses to “Homemade icebox porridge

  1. Interesting! πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you I love following you.

  3. Hmmmm, never been convinced about cold porridge but I eat it most mornings for breakfast. Love your additions, and yes I reckon you could march an army on it. Enjoy!

  4. That’s so cool! I’m looking forward to giving this a try!

  5. I love these ideas – I ran some nutritional figures on various cereals once for my daughter to compare, and then threw in the nutritional values of a couple of slices of different cakes just for fun to compare – one was a banana cake and the other an old fashioned gingerbread cake – most of the cereals came in with worse nutritional values than the cakes did! Even some of what are considered the “healthier” cereals.

    The other thing about cereal along with the packaging, the nutrition: although they’re getting better, some still have a lot of additives, they are pricey, even with coupons, and I find my kids eat WAY more than they should!

    I’m a fan of Suburban Homestead’s blog, too. I love the idea of making something like this for those mornings when you need to grab and go.

  6. Oh, by the way – Freezing these?? Stroke of genius!

  7. Thanks for this recipe, Jenn. I have all the ingredients and cannot say that I have ever eaten a porridge – so this is a great opportunity to try it out.

  8. My Life: A Work in Progress

    This sounds delicious! I wish we had a bigger freezer though. I like to make things ahead of time or in multiple batches, but we rarely have the space for it.

  9. Thank you so much for your encouraging comments. You have no idea how much you each inspire me to keep pushing forward—-especially on the bad days. πŸ™‚
    I appreciate you reading and all of your comments!! πŸ™‚

  10. this is almost like the muesli I have been eating lately. I love the versatility potential of this stuff!

  11. wow! what a great idea. Hmm, breakfast? If you have chickens, you have eggs – no waste. or French toast, if you make your own bread. Yum. or any homemade pastry thing. Now I’m hungry! Thanks for the recipe Jen.

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

