The tree we chose this year

 

The hunt for an environmentally sound tree starring Goldylocks.

IMG_0545

Last year, amid unpacking boxes, we used my grandmother’s ceramic tree. Tiny yet perfect, our 2-year-old found placing the lights in the tiny holes beyond entertaining. This year it is used as a nightlight in the little one’s room. She is still beyond entertained taking the lights in and taking them out again.

IMG_9349

We considered using only the ceramic tree this year, but decided to go with a Norfolk pine in a lovely red pot that can be used year round. I’ve seen that done before. It can be decorated for any holiday throughout the year: birthdays, Valentine’s day, etc.

Why not?

This way, our little one has a “real tree” at Christmas and a lovely pine plant the remainder of the year. If we move, we can plant it and be on our way.

IMG_9361

That is…..if I don’t kill this one.

A little peek at the tree experience:

IMG_0598 IMG_0577 IMG_0572 IMG_0565 IMG_0548 IMG_0545 IMG_0543 IMG_0534 IMG_0593 IMG_0580 IMG_0583 IMG_0530 IMG_0531 IMG_0532 IMG_0529 IMG_0523 IMG_0527 IMG_0524

 

5 responses to “The tree we chose this year

  1. Your little girl is absolutely lovely! She looks like she’s a lot of fun, too! I love the idea of getting a tree and decorating it year-round. Thanks for the idea – totally gonna do that next year!

  2. Beautiful photos of your little girls, and she seems to have been enjoying herself so much too. A great choice of tree. We bought a small Korean Fir last year in a pot, it has come in again now this Christmas, it is said that it will take 12 years for it to grow too big for the house.

  3. I have one of those!

    On Wed, Dec 16, 2015 at 12:41 PM, Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a

  4. Wow so much choice – your southern commenters wish for that!

  5. Lindsay!! Thank you! I thought that would be so much fun with the year round tree. I will let you know how it turns out!!

    Mary Bliss–Did you make yours?

    gaiainaction–You did the same thing we did! Such a small world!

    Sarahn!!—Thank you for always reading my little blog. I am so honored to have someone all the way across the world talking to me about green stuff!

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!