Weeds in the compost?

We’d always read NOT to do this but yes, ladies and gentlemen, we are putting weeds in the compost!

Dead weeds, grass, and marigold trimmings from the community garden. Nothing is wasted. We fill brown commissary bags with garden refuse and load up the car. My other half usually runs over the weeds with the lawn mower so that they’ll break down quicker, but for some reason, we didn’t do that here.

The compost gets so hot, it kills the weeds. I’ve even put seeds in, and except for the occasional sprout from (maybe cucumber seeds?) everything is good to go!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 responses to “Weeds in the compost?

  1. girl, I’ve been thinking of you all morning. just wanted to shot you an email but things got crazy around here and didn’t have much time.
    as for the weeds… Jay’s always puts all kinds of branches to the compost bin. dead or still a little green… doesn’t matter.
    hugs!

  2. I keep a pile of weeds next to the compost bin and use them in between other things. I also wrote a blog about composting: http://pczick.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/composting-using-household-waste-to-create-filthy-rich-dirt/

  3. Around here any and every thing that can goes into the compost bin. My neighbors all rave about the quality of the compost I give them – weeds and all.

  4. I thought you meant he drives the lawnmower over the filled bags. Oh, okay… It’s so hot here, even our weeds are gasping for breath.

  5. Awesome. I’ve always wondered about that. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Thanks for sharing my link! Looking forward to following your adventures here. 🙂

  7. Good links! I found another cool blog to read through them, thanks!

  8. Nice post! I’m not too picky about throwing weeds in my compost either. I came over from Libby’s.

    At the beginning of the spring weed season, when I can easily over-fill my 1.5-cu-yd compost, I will put weeds (with their seed heads in tact) in a separate pile. This “green” is layered over cardboard first (directly on top of grass), then leaves, compost, alternately (in compost fashion), etc. Since all the seeds are along the bottom of the bed, the next generation of weeds is squashed. I plant seedlings directly into this mix, no waiting necessary. (http://wp.me/p28k6D-6T)

  9. Well, shoot. Good to know we’re not the only ones throwing them in! Cheers ya’ll!

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!