Homemade snack mix

This one’s for Heather, my twin (separated at birth.) Heather is a girl on the go, working non stop crazy hours at a medical residency in Kentucky. She often times doesn’t have time to cook or even to eat!

Heather told me she puts this snack mix in her pocket and eats on it throughout the day because it’s high in energy and keeps her going. I like it too and bought it for a long time, but it’s so simple, I decided to make it myself! It was so good, I couldn’t tell the difference!

What you’ll need:

2 cups chipped walnuts
2 cups cranberries
2 cups soy nuts
3/4- cup to 1 cup Hershey’s special dark chocolate chips

1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.
2. Eat.

For folks like Heather who carry this around in their pocket, this version would probably work best, BUT you can also melt the chocolate in a pan and pour in the soy nuts, drying them out on parchment paper for 2 or 3 hours, break them into rough chunks and add them in with the walnuts and cranberries like I did in the pictures below. (Creating chocolate-covered soy nuts.)

But this is messier and time-consuming. And who wants to be bothered with all that? Just throw the chocolate chips in there. I can’t find them in bulk so I’m trying to send the paper into Terracycle, but of course they aren’t accepting any right now. (Sigh.) Everything else I’m getting in bulk. One step at a time, right?

Travels well. Delicious and nutritious. Since it’s high calorie, I eat it as a treat of either  1/4 or 1/2 cup servings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 responses to “Homemade snack mix

  1. well that looks lovely and simple – who needs packaging when you have recipes like that! Must keep you going all day! THanks for sharing and inspiring :)

  2. I’ve been making something similar for the kids lunches – I just have to substitute pumpkin and sunflower seeds for the nuts. It’s a great snack. And now I’m craving chocolate. Sigh.

  3. Looks great. And the soy probably helps carry her along nicely. I usually just keep it to almonds and raisins, and occasionally throw in some chocolate to make it seem like I’m really nice to my children. ;-) Thanks for sharing!

  4. You can also use carob instead of choc. chips! can’t tell the difference and suppose to be less calories

  5. How perfect – simple, healthy and delicious sounding!

  6. I always have all bunch of different nuts and dried fruits bought separately in bulk. Whenever I feel like I mix a handful of each (or a few chosen things) and viola… trail mix read to snack on.
    these days I add roasted salted sunflower seeds and raisins (instead of chocolate chips) to almost all of them. yumm :)

  7. Jennifer, I am inspired by your blog. I’ve nominated you for the kreativ blogger award. http://smallspacebigharvest.com/2012/07/16/bad-form/

  8. I love your blog! I always have to make my own trail mix because I am allergic to tree nuts. It is darn near impossible to find it pre-mixed without some sort of tree nut.

    My favorite is sunflower seeds, dried cranberries (or cherries if I am feeling fancy – ha!), peanuts, and raisins. I am particularly saucy that day, I throw in some M&Ms.

    We’re also a military family and interested in an eco-friendly lifestyle.

  9. Good morning – I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blog Award. Check out my post at http://www.pczick.wordpress.com.

  10. What an easy pick me up. I will definitely try it. The chocolates might get me in trouble though, LOL

  11. A big thank you for the encouragement everyone and the new ideas for other snack mixes. I’m trying to eat it rather than candy more often (so Marcia, I’ve gotta add that chocolate!) and it works….most days.

Your turn. Tell me what you think. Be sure to click on the "notify me of follow up comments via email" if you want to keep the discussion going and get answers from me and fellow commenters!

