From cheese to candles

Not ready to give up my soft cheeses that come in the red wax just yet. So, I melted the wax down and made candles out of them.

IMG_9353

We consume the cheese and then melt the wax down for pretty little red Christmas candles. I reuse and remelt my candle wax and haven’t had to buy candles in years. If you add a pinch of your favorite essential oil, especially peppermint, it gives off a calming holiday season scent.

To melt candle wax, we use one particular old pan purchased at the Good Will. It is only used for wax as it’s oily and gross and I wouldn’t want to cook peas in it afterward, though I suppose I could and probably would.

Have you ever made your own candles?

 

3 responses to “From cheese to candles

  1. that is totally awesome!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Clever!!!!

    On Wed, Dec 30, 2015 at 12:44 PM, Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a

  3. This is impressive reuse, I like it!

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!