The great tree debate

About two years ago I put up a poll as to whether I should get a real tree or a fake one. We ended up getting a tiny real “plant” that would eventually grow into a nice little tree to go with us wherever we went.

IMG_5780

And then I killed it in a military move.

So, we went the ceramic route. My grandma made it years ago. She would love the fact it’s being used and loved.

IMG_3030

This year, we’re sticking with the ceramic one as there is no room for anything else in this sea of boxes. We’ve been using it since I killed the last one and everyone seems to really like it.

Little Precious enjoys pulling the tiny lights off and putting them back on with her tiny fingers.

Is it a green choice? Well, we can use it year after year and pass it down to Miss Precious. And I found the lights for it in the recycling bin in Wisconsin.

Maybe I’ll try that “plant” tree again another time. I could most certainly use some green indoors. And we could use it year round!

What are your holiday traditions this year?

3 responses to “The great tree debate

  1. That looks like a cute little tree. I appreciate your wish to recycle and minimise waste, I agree. For some years I had been buying a ‘live’ tree but they never survived the winter afterwards. This year I finally bought a proper little ‘live’ Fir from a garden centre. It is a Korean Fir and it is so beautiful. I decorated it and it looks lovely. But most of all I love it because it is alive, and this time I am going to keep it inside for the worst of the winter months. It will be like a house plant! Have a lovely Christmas time! šŸ™‚
    By the way you could see my little tree in one of my blogs.

  2. you sure did Mrs! Maybe it would better to have a pretend tree..it will live longer, much cheaper in the long run and you cannot kill it..so its greener

  3. I think every property could benefit with a Christmas tree type conifer planted in the front or backyard. It would serve its purpose year round and double as something to decorate for the holidays — without the chopping.

    The ceramic tree with lights is a fab idea! Especially for passing down. As the Christmas tree is merely a representation of eternal life, it seems counter-productive to kill one just to fit that purpose for a few weeks.

    We are using the same artificial from 1998 that we modified last year (removing 2 feet) to account for the closed in ceiling that resulted in a classroom upstairs. It’s so much easier to decorate now — no ladder, and the kids do it all! Merry Christmas to you and your family. I hope things are settling down a bit.

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

