To blow dry or not to blow dry.

This subject seems so frivolous, but I feel a twinge of guilt each time I chose the hair dryer over letting my hair dry naturally. Men have it so easy! It’s sort of like drying your clothes in the dryer rather than hanging them on the line. Not life or death, but it makes a big difference.

I have a head of the flattest hair anyone has ever seen. My mother used to beg me to perm it to “give it a little body”, but now days….I just can’t be bothered, so I cut it all off to get rid of the weight.

Blow drying however, I’ve had a difficult time giving up.

When I use the blow dryer, I have fluffy hair. When I don’t use the blow dryer, I have flat hair….hmm….It’s ironic because every fluffy-haired woman I’ve ever met laments she’d do anything for my flat hair.

The U.S. Department of Energy gives this formula to calculate how much energy an appliance consumes:

(Wattage × Hours Used Per Day) ÷ 1000 = Daily Kilowatt-hour (kWh) consumption

1 kilowatt (kW) = 1,000 Watts

A hair dryer uses 1200–1875 watts of electricity compared to 10 for a clock radio, and 1800–5000 for the clothes dryer. That seems like a lot to me. I don’t leave it on for a full hour at a time, but I do use it on a frequent basis. Air drying is completely free and doesn’t use any wattage at all.

That got me to thinking. Who am I trying to impress with my fluffy hair? I feel prettier and more confident when my hair is fluffy, but how important is it? So, to compromise with myself by not giving up the confidence and prettiness, this is what I’ve done.

I’m no longer washing my hair every day, meaning I don’t have to blow dry it every day.  I wash it every three days. On the days I don’t wash it, I use a bit of baby powder to soak up oil. I learned this from my mother. She put it in my hair when I was in elementary school when we were late for school and I didn’t have time for a hair wash. Funny how you end up back at your roots. Get it, roots?
And I only blow dry it if I’m going out of the house and will see other people. Because my husband and baby don’t count. They can see me ugly and still love me. 🙂

And I wear a lot of hats.

hat

IMG_4229

Do you do anything in your daily or nightly routine that’s different like using baby powder in your oily hair? Is there anything you simply couldn’t give up? Or something you have?

Hair dryer articles:

One response to “To blow dry or not to blow dry.

  1. Good question! I got suckered into blow drying in 2006 when I inherited a hair dryer whilst studying in France. It made sense in the cold winters. Then I repliated it in Australia. Lately I’ve slowed down my usage as I’m worried the noise will wake my bf. But like you I prefer blow dried hair. I’m yet to try baby powder tho

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

