Making your own unprocessed granola

Unwilling to buy something I can make, and trying to escape from the dreaded packaging, I found this recipe on one of my all-time favorite food sites, Attracting Wellness. I’ve tried this oat and nut granola various times and it’s a head-turner every time.

There are other versions on her site as well, including one with chocolate chips!
I used her same recipe but substituted 2 tbsp of honey instead of sugar and added two tablespoons of flaxmeal and 1/4 cup hazelnuts for fun. I also didn’t go 100% organic like she did, but feel free to do what you like. It is SOOOO good!

What to use:

6 cups rolled oats
1 cup slivered almonds
1 cup unsalted, organic sunflower seeds
1/4 cup organic hazelnuts
2 tablespoons of flaxmeal
1/2 cup organic walnuts
3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
3/4 cup homemade peanut butter
2 tablespoons local, raw honey
Various Pyrex baking dishes or baking sheets

How to make it: 

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2.  Chop nuts into a rough chop—not too fine. (The slap-chop comes in handy on this one. Makes it much faster!)
3.  Toss oats, nuts and flaxmeal together in medium to large-sized bowl.
4.  Melt peanut butter in microwave.
5.  Mix peanut butter, olive oil and honey in large bowl.
6.  Add oats and nuts little by little to peanut butter/olive oil mixture and mix well, making sure all oats are coated.
7.  Spray Pyrex baking dish or baking sheet with olive oil.
8. Spread mixture in Pyrex or on baking sheet edge to edge– NOT TOO THICK. The thicker the mixture, the longer it takes to cook. Expect to cook at least two to three batches depending on how many baking sheets and Pyrex containers you have.
9. Bake for 15 minutes, remove to stir/toss for even baking.
10. Bake for another 10 to 15 minutes, depending on oven. The oats should be a golden color when done. (I’ve burnt them before, and they still taste good though. But keep an eye out.) Variations of “golden” may occur. As long as you’ve baked them for a full 30 minutes and they come out dry, you’re golden.
11. Allow to cool. Mix all batches together and place in an air tight container to keep fresh.

End Result: 

Delicious! Time well-spent. We try to keep it on the shelf constantly for a healthy snack/dessert, but it never lasts long so I have to make two to three batches a setting. My husband adds milk and eats it as cereal for breakfast. Considering I use my own homemade sugarless peanut butter, and only add two tablespoons of honey, it favors a nutty flavor over a sugary one and I don’t feel bad about eating it.

Do you have a favorite granola recipe to share?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses to “Making your own unprocessed granola

  1. Super Yum! Thanks for sharing. I’ve been needing to get on a new batch of granola.

  2. Homemade granola trumps anything store bought! I love that you make your own. You never want to go back to the other stuff after that.

  3. I just started making my own last year. I wish I’d known how easy it is sooner. It’s so much healthier, less packaging, and way cheaper. I’ve never tried peanut butter in it though – next time I will!

  4. The store bought variety is way too sweet for me, but home made granola is one of my favorite ways to start the day (the recipe for one of our recent batches is here: http://wp.me/p1Hab2-84). We’ve never tried making it with peanut butter before, but that sounds worth a try.

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

