Low-fat, high-fiber homemade blueberry muffins

Still trying to perfect the blueberry muffin…I found yet another healthier adaption to try in order not to buy them in plastic containers. It was a hit!

Adapted from NOTTMYOWN’s version from Spark Recipes, I tried a new version.

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup raw wheat germ
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tablespoons pure, raw, wildflower honey
1 egg
3/4 cup 2% milk
1/3 cup homemade, unsweetened applesauce
2 cups organic blueberries

Mix dry ingredients in one bowl, wet ingredients in the 2nd. Make sure honey is well dissolved. Gently mix the two together. Add blueberries. Try not to stir too much.

Cook at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

7 responses to “Low-fat, high-fiber homemade blueberry muffins

  1. Looks good! I have everything but the blueberries, so will have to get some.

  2. One of the true pleasures in life – a great blueberry muffin and time to eat it slowly.

  3. Looks DELICIOUS Jenn….I have plenty of blueberries…but I don’t have the other items….maybe I could send Heidi@lightlycrunchy some blueberries (since she doesn’t have any) and she could send me all the other items. HA

  4. wonderful – I’m always on the lookout for sugar free recipes so I’m definitely trying this. Thanks for sharing!

  5. More people should sweeten muffins and quick breads with honey. I like the floral quality it lends. These look tasty.

  6. Thanks ladies for the confidence boost. Always looking for an improved way to eat what I like with less sugar. It’s unending!
    (Donna, you’re so funny.)

  7. I agree these blueberry muffins look fantastic. I love a good blueberry muffin with organic blueberries.Yum!!

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

