Composting with worms

This easy video from Patti Moreno, The Garden Girl is the simplest video I’ve found so far. The vermi compost she explains here is perfect for those who live in the city or in an apartment and can’t keep a bin or have a huge pile outside, but want their own compost soil. It’s also great for frequent military moves, if you’re only going to be in a place for a few months to a year. This is how to make it:

8 responses to “Composting with worms

  1. I know it’s sad, but I have a worm phobia. I garden, but don’t enjoy the worms at all. I just couldn’t do it. Fortunately, I have other options. And family members that don’t mind digging into the wormy ground..

  2. Jody Thompson

    This looks cool. Like maybe something I could have on my patio sine I’m space challenged. Bravo!!

  3. littlegreenblog

    looks brilliant – the perfect solution to a small space. Wouldn’t do for us as we eat a LOT of fruit and veggies so have heaps of peelings (our worms have tiny appetites) but I know people that have a lot of success with this system.

  4. Our yard is a veritable worm reproducing paradise! When I need any for, say, a new lasagna bed, all I have to do is get a pitchfork and dig. I relocate 50-100 (handfuls) into my beds and wish them the best in their new home. It’s the main reason I quit roto-tilling – it not only tears up the ground, but it also tears up the animals.

  5. This fascinates me.

  6. We started composting on the balcony in February, and the worm castings are piling up. I’m not sure what to do with them all, but I’m sure we can find a local gardner who’d be happy to take them off our hands – a better solution than contributing to landfill.

  7. I live in a 1 bedroom apartment in the city and have been wondering how I’d manage this .This is a fabulous idea! I have a little back porch this would fit nicely on! Thanks!

  8. Pingback: Hair cuts = compost | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

