The toothbrush outcome

So, I tried the Preserve toothbrush made of recycled yogurt cups…

And I must admit it made me feel good knowing yogurt cups were reused. It functioned like any other normal toothbrush. I like mine super soft, so it wasn’t soft enough for me. But they don’t offer those kinds of choices.

I stuffed it back in the same container I bought it in, placed one small piece of tape to close it, and sent it through the mail.
No, not compostable, but 100% zero waste–for me. Do they reuse them yet, again?

Impressed at the concept, I’d probably use it again. But I’m still trying to find the compostable ones. So far, I haven’t seen them offered in any health/natural store I’ve visited. I suppose if I want to seriously be like my hero Bea Johnson, I’ll have to have it shipped from Canada.

😦

Has anyone else found the compostable toothbrushes? Tried them out? Did they compost? Any idea where to find them in the States? (besides on-line). I’m trying to weasel out of the packaging of a shipped product.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 responses to “The toothbrush outcome

  1. Hmmm, how annoying. Is this any good? http://www.lavishandlime.com/Compostable-Ecobrush-Toothbrush-p-1200.html Didn’t have time to read through, just saw a price in dollars – in a rush this evening! Good luck with your search!

    • Thanks Mrs. Green for sharing the link. You’re such a thougtful, little thing! These are the same ones we found. They’re from Canada and made out of bio-plastics NOT made from petroleum, but they look to be the only ones out there, that I can find anyway…
      Might just have to break down and have them shipped. Ugh! 🙂
      I wish the toothbrush companies would get with it and give us more of a choice. Of course, I’ve heard they’ll deliver what we demand. I guess not enough of us are demanding. I mean, I don’t even know how to do that.

  2. I mean Ugh! 😛 (not smiley face!)

  3. I wonder if you call to place your order, and request it, if the company would ship them in a plain paper envelope. I don’t imagine that they are fragile, so the bubble wrap, etc. shouldn’t be necessary. Then, you can compost the envelope! ~Susan

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

