Tony, street artist in Savannah

While on our little trip, strolling along the river walk, we spotted a boat with billowing sails. Okay, they weren’t exactly billowing because the boat floated at the dock, and the sails were down…but that’s how I remembered it until I saw this picture!

I asked my husband to take my picture in front of it.

Yeah, great picture, honey.

I heard, “Hey, do you want me to take a picture of the two of you together?” from a man coming toward us. He held fresh, yellow-green palms in his hand, the kind I’d only seen given away as a kid on Palm Sunday.

 Turns out, he makes his living as an artist, bending and folding gorgeous creations from the palms, which he sells to tourists. Well, according to the locals, he isn’t actually allowed to set a price to the palms, but you can give him whatever you think is fair.

“You should sell these to florists. Entire weddings could be done using the palm,”I told him.

He shook his head. “People want real flowers for weddings.”

“How did  you learn how to do this?” I asked.

“A friend of mine, but she doesn’t even talk to me no more.”

He tore the palms in half and in minutes handed me a tightly wound double heart with roses. I thought of my little green wedding. I didn’t use any flowers at all for the pictures. The bright yellow-pale green would have been perfect against the white dress with the deep green of the pine trees in the background. If only I had known.

_YVnfk on Make A Gif, Animated Gifs

make animated gifs like this at MakeAGif

“You really should think about going into business for yourself,” I said. “You could at least ask a florist if they’d take your stuff.”Again, he shook his head. “I’ve tried. Nobody wants it.”

“Where do you get the palms?” my husband asked.

“Just across the bridge,” he pointed. “There are tons of them.”

“How long have you been doing this?” I asked.

“A while. It’s my livelihood. How I make my living,” he said.

“Are you from Savannah?” I asked.

“He just said he was born and raised here,” my husband said smiling at me. I’d been watching him tie the palms, and hadn’t heard a word.

“Do you mind if I put you on the internet? I have this green blog…” I started.

“Nope, don’t mind,” he shook his head.

 

Upbeat, positive and charismatic, he didn’t push his product on us, though I could tell he hoped to make a sell. As soon as I saw it, I wanted it. It was the perfect “green” souvenir and absolutely lovely. We’d enjoyed a fabulous day, and taking the palm art home to set up in a vase would remind me of the fun we had, and the various characters we’d met in Savannah–like Tony.

The prettiest thing I've ever seen! PERFECT for a wedding!

Characters like–the boy singing Christmas carols as he passed us late at night on his bicycle. The couple also staying at the B&B who eerily could have been our future selves. The shy, young, male cook who brought out breakfast at the inn wearing a white apron over his clothes. The snarky tour guide who told the group we followed too closely behind her. The lady at the hat store who smiled at us while we browsed. Christmas song solos drifted in through the open door belted by a brave soul across the street .

“Wow, you have to listen to him all day long?” I asked.
“Every day of the year,” she laughed.

As we walked back toward the B&B, we passed close to two dozen artists on the streets of Savannah selling the same palm creations as Tony, including thick bouquets of palm roses perfect for a wedding. We’d found Tony’s art original, creative and green. No wonder he couldn’t sell his product to the florist. There were too many doing the same thing.

It made me wonder how he found himself in that particular job. What he ate for dinner. Where he slept at night. With competition so fierce, I couldn’t imagine the street artists made a killing like they did on Venice Beach in California. I also thought, if everyone who visited Savannah bought a palm creation, there would be no more palms. (Though from the looks of the salesmen, sales weren’t too evident.) I wondered how many they sold in the bustling, steamy summer.

If you’re ever in Savannah, Georgia on the river front…seek out Tony, the artist and check out his palm creations. See if you can find out the rest of his story for me. I wish I’d stopped longer to hear more of it.

The artist and his work!

Thanks Tony! I just love it!

14 responses to “Tony, street artist in Savannah

  1. Pingback: The rest of the story…: Tony, street artist in Savannah | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household | Homelessness in Savannah, Stories for Learning

  2. Very nice, talented guy.
    Hope you have a wonderful, happy and green Christmas.

  3. Thanks Bridget! You too! Thanks so much for reading. :)

  4. Hi Bridget, lovely story and what a beautiful creation made from palms!! (Yes, the only ones I’d ever seen were from Palm Sundays, long ago)

  5. Hi Anne-Marie! Thanks so much for visiting my site. You remember those palms from Palm Sunday too? They always let us take one home, though I have no idea what ever happened to them.
    I fluttered over to your site to take a look at your bird watching. I couldn’t figure out what they were nibbling on.
    I enjoyed the belly-dancing performance and the Christmas light show you wrote about!

  6. Sounds like you had a wonderful time in Savannah, green souvenir and all. Have a wonderful and happy Christmas!

    • Thanks Marcia! You too! (And am glad you had such a good time in Atlanta with the grandbabies and the little one didn’t go on a hunger strike, after all! I enjoyed reading it and seeing pictures of you!) How did your daughter and her husband like Savannah? Such a small world. We may have seen them there! :)

  7. What a wonderful creation. I agree, perfect for a wedding. The church would be lovely with those on every pew….

  8. We were in Savannah almost around the same time! I was there on the 25th, though. I was in that area. :)

    • Well, shoot. We might have passed one another on the street! How ironic is that? I hope you had a great time!

    • Eileen! I went to your site and saw your Savannah trip! You and I walked down the same streets, and even ate the same things! Those were chocolate covered marshmallows, right– from Riverstreet Sweets? I tried to make a comment on the Savannah one and the St. Augustine one, but your comments were closed! We were in St. Augustine a few months ago and saw the same men dressed up at the fort. Did you see them light off the cannons? :) Great pictures by the way!

  9. Yes, it’s from the Riverstreet Sweets. :) My hotel was right on riverstreet. I think it’s called Riverstreet Hotel. Haha! I liked the Morroccan restaurant near there.

    Yes, I did see them fire the cannons. :) Thank you!

Your turn. Tell me what you think. Be sure to click on the "notify me of follow up comments via email" if you want to keep the discussion going and get answers from me and fellow commenters!

