A military Thanksgiving Day.

Guess who just came in from sea! My favorite face. Just a little note of what I’m thankful for on this Thanksgiving Day…

I didn’t think he’d make it home, but yes, he did! It’s always a thrill when he’s home for the holidays, because in the two years we’ve been married, that hasn’t  always been the case.

Each and every time he goes out to sea, I realize there’s a chance he may not return. I don’t like to think about it, but it’s a fact. So when I see him after a deployment out to sea, it’s like the very end of the movie It’s A Wonderful Life each and every time. I get a whole new chance at life with him! And all the petty things become just that. Petty. The things I grumble about seem beyond ridiculous and trivial. Life is so short, I want to spend it happy and smiling with his beautiful face. Is it possible to be any happier today?

 

Other things I’m thankful for:

That I finally allowed someone to love me.
That I’m learning to love myself each day.
That I have parents who have always said out loud that they love me.
That this wonderful man with his wonderful smile has been patient as I learned to cook and write this manuscript instead of work a regular outside job.
That Michelle introduced me to the world of blogging.
That I’ve had so many opportunities.
That I’ve met folks from all over the world through this crazy blog.
That I have clean water to drink.
That I live in a free country where women can vote, drive a car and work in public.
That I live in a free country where soldiers are honored.
That I’ve found something I truly enjoy doing. (writing and God forbid–cooking. There, I said it.)
That I have people who would notice and care if I wasn’t around.
That I have shoes to protect my tender feet.
That I live in America.
That I’ve had the chance at an education and experience through travel to teach me the world does not revolve around me or my nation.
That other people and other countries can and often do it better and I can learn from them.
The fact I get to listen to happy Christmas carols until the end of December.
That I got to have my 1st real garden this year.
That I can comprehend love.
That my husband is able to send email when he’s out to sea and tell me he misses me, loves hearing my voice and can’t wait to see me.
That I believe him.
That I get a little closer to the truth every day.
That my sister called and wished me Happy Thanksgiving today.
That I have a close-knit family.
That for the first time in my life, I am truly happy.
That I married a man who isn’t afraid to serve his country.
For the men and women of this nation in uniform, especially those who are working and have duty today.

Thank you for giving!
Happy Thanksgiving everyone, and bless you each and every one! 🙂

Others giving thanks this Thanksgiving day:

9 responses to “A military Thanksgiving Day.

  1. Pingback: Give Thanks « Petchary's Blog

  2. I’m thankful that I have a caring and truly lovely niece and a sister that was such a good mother.

  3. Pingback: $20 for Two Tickets to Penfold Theatre Company’s ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’ in Round Rock ($40 Value). Four Options Available. » Get your daily Groupon deals

  4. WOW….that was a beautiful thanksgivings letter…your so wonderful…there should be more people like you on this earth.

  5. I had lots of military brats as friends in my last year of high school. I’m still in contact with many of them through Facebook. Sounds like you struck gold when you married him…:-) lucky girl!

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

