Recycling in the south.

Unpacking, and moving in, we ran across all sorts of things to recycle. We switched to CFL lightbulbs, we used newspaper to wash the windows, I found going away gifts wrapped in white tissue paper, and we received lots of welcoming junk mail in our mailbox. We threw it all in. Even the cursed happy meal box I stopped to eat on the road. (No, I didn’t eat the box.)

So, when we went to pick up our recycling bin from the side of the road at the end of the day, what a surprise!

As Kyle's mother would say on South Park, "What, what, what?"

The city doesn’t recycle paper board–which includes beer boxes, medicine boxes, food packaging, cereal boxes, calendars, toothpaste boxes, milk cartons, or even Happy Meal boxes. They also don’t recycle junk mail like magazines. They sorted through it and left what they wouldn’t take. I guess we grew a little spoiled in Norfolk, where at least they took junk mail.

I’d like to storm down to City Hall and demand to know why they don’t take number 5 plastic or magazines. “You allow your post office to send advertisements to my mailbox, but you won’t recycle them?” I want to holler from the rooftops—WHY IS AMERICA SO BEHIND AND BACKWARDS when it comes to recycling? I mean, really.

Ok. I feel a little better now. Thanks.

It could be worse. I’m pretty sure the base takes both paper board and junk mail, but what about all the people who don’t work on base? What about all the people who don’t have time or don’t know about recycling on base? What about those who dont’ have access to the base?

Maybe to make myself feel better, I could call waste management and find out why. I could go to a meeting at City Hall and ask why….

Why not?

Sure, it would eventually disintegrate, but why not reuse it? How else could paper board be used?

8 responses to “Recycling in the south.

  1. Absolutely Jennifer, why not make your voice heard. Everyone rattles on about recycling and so they really should be doing it as part of normal practice . You should not have to rely on facilities on the Base they should be all around the area.
    Maybe you could start up a group to make people aware of what can be achieved without too much effort.

  2. Good luck with that battle. In my Ga. hometown, my parents are now able to recycle, because the county government finally began charging for garbage disposal. Years ago, I worked on a recycling effort in town, but it didn’t work until folks had to pay for their trash. Suddenly, it made sense to remove the recyclable items from the waste stream.

  3. You could try cutting them into circles, squares or other shapes to make temporary coasters! Use 1 piece of the absorbent paperboard for the “top” side that goes against the glass and 1 piece of the non-absorbent side underneath (like glossy store ads)to prevent the moisture from seeping onto your furniture. Eventually, I’m sure the paperboard would start to wear through, but you could just add another piece on top! Maybe not the most attractive coasters, but I’m just trying to think outside the box here… haha

  4. I’m liking this kind of thinking! (outside the box!) Keep those good ideas rolling!

  5. I work at the post office….I recycle everything…I started doing it because I thought it was the right thing to do…….now I’ve got several people at work that put their empty plastic containers in my recycling box….I’ve even had some workers bring me their recycling from home…

    • Woman, do you realize you are the inspiration for everything I do? For this blog and trying to live waste free? I love that you recycle. I love that you taught me how to live like a wasteless human being, a true environmentalist. Well, you and dad. You were both good at that. You are the most amazing woman I have ever met and I love you more every day. Thank you for listening to me nag and whine and complain and talk on and on about myself. I am so proud to have you as my mother. I am just sure I must have picked you before I was born. There’s no way I could have gotten this lucky. I’m so proud of you for doing the things you do. I’m so proud to have you as my mom. I’m just so proud of you.

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

