The sorry letter from Starbucks as to why they do not know whether their product can even be recycled.

Unable to find anything on the package about recycling (other than to recycle the box), I took the next step MissWhipLash from God’s Creatures encouraged me to do.
I wrote the company.

IMG_4440

I do cave and occasionally buy things from the Amish salvage shop because the prices are so so cheap. I buy things I wouldn’t normally consume. Then I feel all guilty and have to figure out how to get rid of the packaging.


Correspondence from me:

Hi.
I cannot seem to find anywhere that recycles your single use Via packets. How can I recycle them?

Thank you!
Jennifer

Correspondence from them:

Dear Jennifer,
Thank you for contacting Starbucks.

I am sorry you have been unable to find anywhere to recycle your VIA packages. Unfortunately, the only way to find out where to do so, would be to call around your local recycling plants. I am sorry for the inconvenience.

 If you ever have any questions or concerns in the future, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Sincerely,
Michelle H.
customer service

Correspondence from me:

Michelle,
The reason I’m writing is BECAUSE the recycling centers don’t take them.  No one seems to take them. Can they not be recycled–as in–is the material unable to be recycled? I feel like if the company makes them, they should know.

Thanks so much!
Jennifer
Previous messageCorrespondence from them: 
 
Hello Jennifer,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

 If they will not accept them at any recycling location they must not be made of material that can be recycled. I do not know exactly what material they are made of but there should be some information on the package about recycling.

 I was sorry to hear how disappointed you were and want to assure you that I’ve shared your comments with the appropriate teams for their review. We are always looking for feedback from our customers about the Starbucks experience. You know better than anyone else what you want from Starbucks. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the quality of our products and service to create satisfied customers.

If you ever have any questions or concerns in the future, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

 Sincerely,
Christine K.
customer service

I felt the answers were generic and took no responsibility. No one signed their last name. They used an initial. I did not get the same person though I wrote to the same person. The answers were unhelpful, yet, both the girls encouraged me to write back if I had any other questions and concerns—-since they couldn’t help me with this one.

1.”I do not know exactly what material they are made of.” Really? You WORK there. Take a minute, go look it up. Tell me what it is on the outside of the package and how to dispose of it without adding to the landfill.

2. “ I was sorry to hear how disappointed you were…” Read that line again. She might as well have said, “But it doesn’t matter what you think sucker, because millions of people drink our drinks every day. You are one person. You don’t really matter. We will not change because of you.”

3. “If you ever have any questions or concerns in the future, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.”
The only other thing left to write is….”Dear Starbucks, what are you going to do about the Via coffee single packs? They cannot be recycled. When are you going to fix that?”

But I feel as if I already wrote that, right? What do you think? Write again? How about going up the chain?

And so, as with many companies and products, I shall no longer cave in and buy these again.

As much as I like coffee, getting a good night’s sleep will wake me just as well.

I’d rather drink water.

4 responses to “The sorry letter from Starbucks as to why they do not know whether their product can even be recycled.

  1. Unfortunately,

    The generic response is standard with large companies. How about them thinking outside the box, doing some legwork and give an honest answer to your question. You could push it further and write a letter to a higher link in the chain.
    Or just…
    Switch to tea. It’s better for you. (;

    Thanks for sharing

    • @Mike–Thanks. I do like tea! :-)
      @Sharon–thanks for the boost of encouragement
      @Shannon–that’s my Shannon!!

      Thank you for the comments. I shall add ‘Write Starbucks higher authority’ to my list.

  2. I would write back and say exactly what you said at the end of this post: that you won’t be purchasing their products anymore because they are not recyclable.

  3. I know what I will do in response:: continue to not buy Starbucks products! There are plenty of fair trade alternatives that can be brewed at home, in your own reusable cup, and the grounds can be put into your own yard. Plus think of the $$ you’ll save for Peanut’s college fund.

Tell me what you think. I don't get to answer comments like I did before baby but I read every single comment. And they really make my day!

