Pizza boxes in the compost!

We always recycled our pizza boxes. Then we heard the recycling center didn’t want them if they had pizza grease on them, so we could only recycle the top half.

But lo and behold, we found a compost video on-line and discovered we could put entire pizza boxes in the compost! No more guilt about eating pizza! Well, kind of..

We didn’t even have to break them down. They disintegrate immediately!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My husband said, “No one will be able to tell what that is,” as I took the last picture. Well, honey, I’m here to tell you. That, my friend, is what is left of the pizza box. I stirred it today, and I couldn’t find it at all.

18 responses to “Pizza boxes in the compost!

  1. Pingback: Deal Grater » Two Large Pizzas, Garlic Bread and Soft Drink

  2. Pingback: $10 for $20 Worth of Self-Serve Italian Fare at Tazinos Pizza & Salad Bistro » Get your daily Groupon deals

  3. that is a great discovery, well done, and at least you will get dissintegrated pizza boxes in your soil . That is good for ventilation.
    We do not have pizza boxes but we do get loads of leaves in the fall..which we suck up and use to cover the rose heads and other plants ready for the winter

  4. Pingback: Pizza Meal with Wings or Appetizers for Two or Four at Chicho’s Pizza (Up to 54% Off) » Get your daily Groupon deals

  5. I always cut the top of the pizza box to recycle because it was clean but threw the bottom part in the trash……what was I thinking….I WILL put it in my compost…thanks for the tip

  6. I cant belive that but great idear if ever body done that it would save so much waste to landfill

  7. Pingback: $7 for $14 Worth of Italian and International Pizza at The Pizza Box in Portsmouth » Get your daily Groupon deals

  8. My husband always shred those boxes. It disapears faster in our compost bin :) He shread all kids of boxes. Cheerios boxes, boxes, bosex, eggs boxes… Whatever is recyclable and doesn’t have any plastic in it. It works great so far.

  9. Awesome!!!! I never would have thought of this. I have recycled packing boxes and always felt bad for putting pizza boxes in the trash but I will give this a shot now!

    • Oh good Trafalga21 I’m thrilled I gave you an idea. That’s why I started this crazy blog! My mom said the same thing!! Feel guilty no more! Let me know how quickly it breaks down. I’m always curious.

  10. Pingback: Adding paper to the compost | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

Your turn. Tell me what you think. Be sure to click on the "notify me of follow up comments via email" if you want to keep the discussion going and get answers from me and fellow commenters!

